Welcome, guest: Register / Login / Trending / Recent

698 members, 165 topics. April 18, 2019, 3:38 pm

Nwaubani is 2018 Raven Award winner

WriterTain Forum / News and Events / Nwaubani is 2018 Raven Award winner (1 Post | 76 Views)

(1) (Go Down)

Nwaubani is 2018 Raven Award winner by Akinjidetayo(m) : 4:32 am On Jan 21

Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani has been named the 2018 Raven Award winner for her young adult novel, Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree.
The award is given yearly to an artist whose work creatively represents some aspect of mimetic theory.

The winners come from the stage, screen, fiction and the visual arts, which have the extraordinary capacity of the arts and entertainment to soften hearts and shift thinking in the world.

Previous winners are, Heidi Stillman, Stephen Schwartz, Indira Johnson, Kevin Miller, Anthony Bartlett, Paul King, Tim Allen and Christian Picciolini.

In 2018, the Raven Award was given to Nwaubani for her novel, in which a kidnapping victim tells the readers her experiences before and during her capture by Boko Haram, the notorious Nigerian terrorist group.

Nwaubani, a novelist, journalist, essayist, and humourist, came to the limelight with her stunning debut novel, I Do Not Come to You by Chance, set in the intriguing world of Nigeria’s ‘419’ Internet scammers.

The 2009 book went on to win the Wole Soyinka Prize in 2010, Commonwealth Writers Prize best first book Africa region and a Betty Trask Award from the society of authors in 2010. It was also named by the Washington Post as one of the Best Books of the Year.

Her second novel, Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree, is based on dozens of interviews with girls and women kidnapped by the terrorist group.

The novel is set in a small, unnamed village in northeastern Nigeria, where a young girl’s dream of acing the Borno State scholarship exam published by HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen in September 2018.

(Quote) (Report)


(1) (Reply)

Okwui Enwezor Dies Of Cancer At 55 / HELP:ALL MY CREDENTIALS FROM PRIMARY TO MASTERS(MSC) ARE MISSING / With The Future, Okolie raises new storytellers, poets /

(Go Up)

WriterTain - Copyright © 2018 Akintayo Akinjide (Admin). All rights reserved. Follow WriterTain on Facebook and Twitter
Disclaimer: Every WriterTain member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on WriterTain.